Trying New Things

In an effort to get out of my ho-hum everyday meals, I’ve been branching out and trying new ideas.

Today’s new idea was roasted okra. I see it everywhere in the health blog world, but I couldn’t imagine that it would be that good. I mean, I love fried okra (being a true southerner) but who eats it like french fries? ME! I’m in love with this new find. Good thing okra is in season and on sale right now.

YUM

I put beside my pasta dish containing:

whole wheat pasta

fresh mozzarella cheese

roasted eggplant, zucchini and red onion

a little bit of extra virgin olive oil and a tbsp. of butter

I also added 1/4 Florida Avocado because they are CHEAP right now and I LOVE avocados.

Great dinner.

Wish I could say the same for Meghan, who had organic mac & cheese, orange slices and cheddar cheese. I guess it’s not that bad, but I wish she would eat what we do.

Any tips on getting your toddler to eat good for you food???

I kept lunch really simple. I don’t know why I hadn’t done this before, but I loaded up half a baked potato with:

kidney beans

avocado

salsa

cheddar cheese

green onions

plain greek yogurt

I have a pic, but I’m still trying to figure out how to get my iPhone pics to my computer.

Night!

Leave a Reply

