Rules and Balance

I am struggling a bit with definitions and labels.

I guess in a way, I always have.

But I’m trying to define who and what I am based on other people’s definitions of what they are. And it’s not working out well for me.

I’ve tried every diet out there. Really – Weight Watchers, Atkins, South Beach, Eat Right 4 Your Type, Clean Eating, etc.

Seriously, that’s not even the whole list.

And you know what, here I sit – weighing the same and going up and down the same three pounds over and over again.

I think it’s time to throw out the rules.

I love Clean Eating – I really do. It makes me feel good and I like putting good, whole food in my body. But I’m not a “Clean Eater” – not by any stretch.

If I was, I would probably long ago be at goal. And something tells me that the Papa John’s pizza, apple pie and chocolate I ate this weekend would make Tosca Reno say, “Tsk, tsk” and wag her finger.

But that’s okay.

I realize that I’m not here to follow anyone’s rules and it’s not exactly working out for me anyway.

I need to trust my instincts and my body cues to tell me what to do – and that’s not eating around the clock. I’m just not hungry for all these snacks and it makes me feel like live and die by all this food.

I think I just need to be rid of that mentality and just try to strike a balance.

I am a vegetarian for moral, personal reasons. Not dieting. So that won’t change.

But everything else, I think it’s just going to have to boil down to moderation and balance.

As Michael Pollan says, “Eat food. Not too much. Mostly Plants.”

That’s pretty good advice.

So, to that end, I’m just going to do what makes me happy and see how it works out.

Unfortunately, I still have to journal my food. To be honest, I’ve been doing it for so long that it’s just a part of me.

But if I don’t do it, then I gain weight. This has been proven. Multiple times…

I just want some balance and to feel good about the choices I’ve made – and to live a healthy life and be a good example for my daughter.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carolyn
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 19:13:02

    Great post. I agree… while I called myself a vegan in my above comment… I often times will not refer to myself as a vegan to strangers. I say “I don’t eat meat. ” They will respond, you know the usual, “do you eat dairy?” Nope. “What the hell do you eat then?” Fruits and veggies.

    I don’t like labels either. I’m an independent for that reason!

    I was just talking with a stranger on the plane last week, and I told him I just got married and am loving it. But I struggle with finding myself as me, Carolyn, and as the wife Carolyn. I’m told it doesn’t’ get easier once you have kids.

    Reply

    • jj92980
      Sep 16, 2010 @ 21:16:01

      Carolyn, I wish I could say that it gets easier when you have kids…and maybe it does for some people. But I didn’t want to just be “Mom”. Believe me, being a mom has been so great and the best (and hardest) job in the world, but it’s not all of me. It’s just part of me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

