A Weekend of Firsts with Food

1.  I made two buttermilk pies from scratch. I didn’t even know what buttermilk pie was before Saturday. But I needed to use a half gallon of buttermilk that was about to expire. How many times can I say buttermilk? Buttermilk. Just for good measure. 🙂

It turned out great and I thought it tasted very good. And horrible for you, which is the mark of many things that taste good.

Not mine, but it looked just like this.

I’m thinking that I need to make this for Thanksgiving this year instead of my usual pecan pie.

2. I made fresh pasta from scratch. Now, I don’t know what possesed me to to this if you want to know the truth. We are all sitting around watching the football game and I decide feeding several hungry men would be a good idea.

It too came out really well. No one could believe that I’d never made it before. I don’t have a pasta machine though so I had to roll it out and let me tell you – that’s HARD work!

I tossed mine with sauteed red onions, mushrooms, fresh spinach, red wine, a little butter, some chunks of fresh mozzrella cheese and then added some halved grape tomatoes at the end. O. M. G.

Another pic that isn't mine...

Seriously. I wish I had taken a picture of it but as much as I’m into photography I forget to take food pics. I’m working on it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kristy
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 19:57:01

    I have been wanting to make home made pasta for months now! Maybe now I have the courage? 🙂 Great job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

