Pity Party for One, Please

I’m in the midst of feeling sorry for myself at the moment. And I know that in the grand scheme of the world, these things aren’t earth shattering but I’m upset about them so I’m going to let myself feel it instead of running to food for comfort.

I went to the orthopedic doctor yesterday to discuss my foot and ankle pain. Unfortunately, my foot is full of teeny little hairline stress fractures. The only reason that he didn’t cast me right then and there was because it would halt my physical therapy for my SI Joint Dysfunction which we have been working so hard to correct.

He thinks that the stress fractures will fix themselves with the help of custom orthotic insoles because I under pronate due to an extremely high arch. And I wear nothing but flat shoes. Ever. So literally my bones are breaking under my weight (way to make me feel like I’m 500 pounds, LOL!) because there’s nothing to support my high arch except the bones.

Super.

So he fit me for insoles (which I hate and I’m trying to get used to) and now none of my shoes fit. He told me I need to buy Clarks, Birkenstocks, etc. that are made to mold to your foot to give it the support it needs. I go back in 4-6 weeks and if it’s not better…I will be casted for two months. And I have a three year old.

Excellent.

Anyway, so that’s that.

The other thing is that I’m having major sleep problems. I wear my FitBit at night to log my sleep and I wake anywhere between 19-42 times per night. I’m actually not getting much sleep. Here’s what last night looked like:

Yeah, I could give M. Night Shyamalan a run for his money with the nightmares I have at night. Last night’s was particularly insane and I find myself in a total fog today.

Okay, enough pity. I guess I need to put on my big girl panties and just deal with it.

The bright spot in my day so far:

Steel Cut Oats with Dried Dates

 Yes, oatmeal has been the highlight of my day so far. I’ll take whatever I can get at this point…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carolyn
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 13:48:19

    Tell me about the Fit Bit please?

    Reply

  2. jj92980
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 13:58:38

    I love my FitBit, LOL! Seriously, I love this thing.

    You can check it out on http://www.fitbit.com to see all the cool features that it has.

    Basically, you wear it each day (very small and not noticable) and it tracks your steps taken, calories burned, activity level, sleep time and quality, miles, etc. The list goes on.

    I track my food intake in the FitBit website, which is free. It’s great because I’m trying to lose weight to improve my overall well being and my SI Joint Dysfunction and this is helping me see a healthy calorie deficit each day without feeling crazy like I’m dieting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

