Dirt Queen

Yesterday was such a beautiful day here in Florida.

I have had my organic garden for some time now but decided to expand it to athe actual yard rather than just boxes. And it was the perfect day for it.

I went to Home Depot in the morning and bought a ton of started vegetables – brussel sprouts, peppers, collards, broccoli, strawberries, etc.

Yum.

I was born and raised in Florida, so I don’t know any different, but I appreciate that we can plant all year round.

And I like to play in the dirt. True story.

And because it was National Get Outside and Play Day (how random that I know that…) Meghan got in on the action too and helped me out. She loves to garden as well.

She found a fake coin and buried and told me it was going to grow a money tree. If only…

I’m pretty proud of the work we did yesterday and hope to see the fruits of our labor soon.

There’s nothing better than needing an ingredient and just stepping out your back door for it.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carolyn
    Sep 26, 2010 @ 21:22:33

    I tried my hand at organic gardening for the first time this year. I had so many pests it really made me 1) get grossed out 2) have mad respect for organic gardeners 3) understand the price of organic produce better and 4) scratch my head wondering how I can fight bugs off.

    Any ideas?

    Reply

  2. jj92980
    Sep 26, 2010 @ 23:43:31

    They actually have organic pestisides that we use. They aren’t chemicals, but rather bacterias that kill bugs but are totally harmless to humans and animals. I’ve had good success with it.

    Reply

  3. Carolyn
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 00:53:31

    Do you know what product it is?

    The raised beds look great. What are you growing?

    Reply

  4. Jenn
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 12:06:53

    In the raised beds?

    Green peppers, jalapenos, chives, tons of basil (it’s out of control), yellow peppers, brussel sprouts, rosemary, oregano, cherry peppers, mint…I think that’s it in the raised beds.

    We’ve had great success with it. I’ll have to look at the bottle of the pesticide that we use – I’m not home right now. If you google it though, you should be able to find it. That’s how I found out about it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

