The Plan

This reminds me of the episode of Friends (yep, I’m a Friends geek) where Rachel, Monica and Phoebe were talking about having a plan in life and Phoebe says, “I don’t even have a PLA.”

LOL. Okay, so you had to be there.

Ahem. Anyway.

So yesterday I posted about my goal to lose 6 pounds in a healthy way before November 13.

(For reference, my starting weight is 190.)

Today I weighed in as Fridays are my “official” weigh in day and I weighed 189.

Want to know how lame I am? I was disappointed. I know that to safely lose weight and keep it off, I need to lose no more than one pound per week.

And I did that…but I was hoping for more. I know right? Never satisfied. Want everything now. Typical. Etc.

But I digress.

The more I thought about my post yesterday, the more I realized that there is no way you can achieve goals without a plan to accomplish them.

I wouldn’t do that at work, so I shouldn’t do it where weight loss is concerned.

So here’s the plan:

1. Using my FitBit tracker, I will consume 1400 calories per day on Monday – Friday and no more than 1800 calories per day on Saturday – Sunday. I find that I need more for the weekend so I have to balance it out with weekday consumption.

2. Aim for 10,000 steps per day, as tracked on my FitBit. (Can you tell I love my FitBit? I should be a spokesperson.)

3. Aim to workout 30 minutes at a time, 4 days per week. I think that’s a good starting point. I define working out as biking, elliptical, yoga, workout DVD’s and power walking.

4. Limit intake of sodium and processed foods. That’s all the time, whether I’m trying to lose weight or not.

5. Hold myself accountable. Every bite needs to be counted. Otherwise, I’m fall into the whole “it-doesn’t-count-if-I’m-standing-at-the-counter-and-it’s-only-a-bite” mentality. But it’s still calories.

6. Aim to consume as much fresh food as possible. We joined a CSA that starts in November, so this should be fairly easy to accomplish.

Okay, I think that’s enough for now. I know from experience that if my goals are too lofty, I won’t accomplish them and get discouraged.

I will have none of that. It’s too important.

But I do want to add another one that is perhaps the hardest:

7. Enjoy everyday the way you are NOW. Stop waiting to enjoy life until I am thinner, richer, fitter, happier, etc… or it will never come. I will love myself and my life now.

On that note, have a good weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

