10.12.10

What a crazy day yesterday…I work in fundraising and we are in the middle of a huge two week fundraiser right now. I’m beat!

Here’s what my eating looked like yesterday:

Vegan cornbread-black bean-tomato casserole topped with light sour cream (there’s goes the vegan part – and yes, I ate this for breakfast).

Vegetarian chili with light sour cream, avocado, green onions, green pepper strips and a cheese stick.

Bagel and cream cheese (only non-meat food at my fundraiser).

Salad: lettuce, feta, artichoke, onion, hummus, tomato, pepperoncini, kidney beans, avocado. YUM.

My workout yesterday (besides being on my feet and running around for hours at work) was a 30 minute, 2 mile Walk Away the Pounds DVD.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

I observed something very interesting that I wanted to share. I guess it’s the psychology degree coming out, but I’m fascinated by other people’s behavior.

I mentioned the birthday cake we had at work on Monday….there were seven women sitting around the table eating cake. Five of those women were eating cake and two of them were not. I was one of them and that was okay, because they know I don’t like cake.

But here’s the interesting part: the other woman who chose not to have any cake was chastized by the five women who were eating. They were all making sarcastic comments about how she was being “good” and they were not. Now, these are people who have known each other for years and are actually quite good friends.

It’s a little disheartening to me that as women, we judge others to make ourselves feel better about our own choices. Which I’m convinced that’s what it was about.

Why do we do that? Do men do this? I’m thinking not…

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carolyn
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 13:56:13

    It is very interesting indeed. It is always the unhealthy choices who judge the one who choices the healthy option. Case in point. Husband doesn’t drink. At a wedding on Saturday night, people were like “why don’t you drink?” while they were getting shit faced. I guess it does happen to guys. But not to the extent I think it happens to women.

    Reply

  2. Carolyn
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 13:56:36

    typos galore. sorry.

    Reply

  3. Kelly
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 04:54:46

    Hey, I found your blog through a forum where someone posted a link to it. Anyway, I think it boils down to the fact that lots of times, when women make what they consider “bad” choices, they want their surrounding friends/family/whoever to do it with them so they aren’t reminded that they could be making better decisions. And that’s really unfortunate when you happen to be the one trying to do what is best for you, and you get chastised for it. The women eating cake might be thinking that they don’t really need it, but they are eating it anyway because they want it, but to see someone who’s not eating it reminds them that they don’t need it either. I have learned to eat out with friends and family that aren’t going to say anything, regardless of what I choose, but it’s harder at a work function when you can’t really say anything. Interesting psychology of group vs. individual mentality behavior! My blog is about healthy living so check it out if you get a chance.

    Reply

  4. jj92980
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 14:10:10

    Hi Kelly – do you mind telling me which forum? Just interested. I didn’t think anyone was really reading my blog, LOL!

    Reply

  5. Carolyn
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 17:05:07

    I posted this on the Health and Fitness forum on thenest.com. 🙂 I thought it was an interesting conversation point.

    Reply

  6. jj92980
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 19:01:56

    Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

