10.19.10

Where is October going? Time flies by so fast these days. I sound like I’m 80 or something!

Anyway, yesterday was pretty good. I was happy to get home early and have some time to myself to watch Cake Boss. I love this show and I was so excited when Buddy’s wife Lisa said that she was pregnant – pretty easy to see that one coming though.

As a side note, I DVR all my shows that like to watch because I’m an “early to bed” kind of person AND I don’t like watching TV at night because I’d rather spend time with my daughter. So I’m always a little behind on what happened on any given show.

But I digress. Here’s what my day looked like yesterday:

Organic steel cut oats, raisins, a little cream (definitely a splurge but oh so decadent), banana.

Couscous with roasted veggies and garlic, Fritos (ugh), organic twisted fruit rope (love these!).

Edamame snack

Enchilada casserole with sour cream and avocado.

*****************************************************************

Speaking of enchilada casserole, it’s just about one of my favorite things in the whole world to eat. It’s my own recipe, but I’m sure there are a million just like it (or maybe not):

Enchilada Casserole

Serves 8

15 oz. kidney beans

15 oz. black beans

2 cups frozen corn (or fresh if you have it)

15 oz. vegetarian, fat free refried beans ( I use organic)

15 oz. enchilada sauce (green or red – both are yummy)

1 can spicy Rotel tomatoes, juice and all

6 Ezekial sprouted grain wraps

2 cups cheese (I’ve used Mexican queso blanco and sharp cheddar – both are yummy)

1 whole red onion, chopped

1 whole green, red or yellow pepper, chopped

Optional for serving – cilantro, light sour cream/greek yogurt, jalapeno, avocado, etc.

I mix together all the ingredients except cheese, enchilada sauce and wraps in a big bowl.

Then in a 9×13 casserole dish, layer two wraps then half of the filling. Top with half of the cheese. Put two more wraps down and then top with the remainder of the filling. This time, top with two more wraps, then the remainder of the cheese and top the whole thing with enchilada sauce. Spread it so that it covers evenly.

Bake at 350 for about 45 minutes.

The nice thing about this dish is that it travels well, freezes and reheats well, can be modified based on the ingredients you have for the filling, and can be made ahead and thrown in the oven later.

Leave a Reply

