Aloha from Sickville

So, it’s official. We are all sick. Too much going on and not enough rest + lots of germs = our house.

My poor girl has been running a fever all weekend (though you wouldn’t know it with the way she’s bouncing off the walls) and the doctor declared she has an ear infection and a bad sinus infection this morning. 😦

So I’m at work while the hubs is home and I wish I was cuddled up in bed napping with my family right now since I feel like crap too.

But alas, it’s not meant to be. At least not today.

Onto the eats –

My weekend was actually pretty decent considering that none of us were feeling well.

I made a quiche out of eggs, broccoli and cheddar that we ate off of all weekend and we ordered in Chinese food on Saturday night but I just wasn’t feeling it.

Yesterday featured a veggie sandwich with hummus, avocado, sprouts, tomato, spinach, onion and lettuce. YUM.

For dinner, I made the following and it turned out delish. It’s inspired from a recipe I saw Giada De Laurentiis make on Everyday Italian yesterday:

Smashed Pea Pasta

1 lb. whole wheat fettucine noodles

1 package frozen peas, thawed

a bunch of fresh broccoli

1 cup part skim ricotta

1/2 cup parmesan cheese

3 garlic cloves

salt

pepper

fennel seeds**

Boil noodles in salted water. Towards the end of  cooking, throw in some fresh broccoli to cook to al dente.

While that’s going on, saute some crushed garlic cloves in a bit of extra virgin olive oil and add peas. Using back of your spoon, smash them. Good for aggression. Don’t smash them all though – leave some whole for texture.

Put broccoli and cooked pasta into your pea mixture. Dump in the ricotta, fennel seeds, parmesan, salt and pepper. Use two ladels of the pasta cooking liquid to thin out the sauce.

EAT. YUM.

**Note: I added fennel seeds because her recipe used sausage and I don’t eat meat. But sausage usually has fennel and I thought this lended nice flavor that might have otherwise been missing.

I can’t wait to have the leftovers for lunch today!

Leave a Reply

