Halloweenie

Another Halloween has come and gone. Yesterday was pretty great and I’ll have to post a picture of Meghan as a little Alice in Wonderland as soon as I download them.

Edited: here’s one –

We had a great time getting together with friends, watching the Bucs game (a win, thankyouverymuch) and then carting around the neighborhood I grew up in with a bunch of 3-5 year olds and a bunch of parents, dragging two wagons with coolers and a radio. We were quite a sight.

I most certainly did NOT have too much wine. Most definitely. 🙂

Then again, I wasn’t feeling well still yesterday so I didn’t eat very much + a few glasses of wine = woozy Jenn. I suppose the devil horns I wore were fitting.

There was a nice spread at my friend’s house but I was concerned that there would be no vegetarian food. I needn’t have worried since they had a veggie tray, fruit pirate ship (way cool) and a cheese/cracker tray.

We brought guava paste with cream cheese and cuban crackers (try it sometime – very good!) and I made twice baked stuffed potato skins.

Here’s what I did:

Baked 8 potatoes for an hour at 400 degrees. Wait about 10 minutes after you pull them out of the oven, then cut in half and scoop out the potato guts.

I used a ricer to put the potato through so it would be really smooth and that worked well, but you could also just use a potato masher.

To the potatoes, I added light sour cream, cheddar cheese, queso blanco mexican cheese, salt, pepper, garlic powder, green onion and some milk to thin it all out. Cream cheese would work really nicely too but I was trying to keep it from being a gazillion calories. Bacon would also be good if you eat meat.

Then I put the mixture into a freezer ziploc bag, cut a corner for a tip and piped it back into the empty potato skins. You could just scoop it bake in, but this makes it way easier and faster.

Then I put them in the fridge and before I went to the party, baked for 30 minutes at 35o degrees. They were GONE and I got so many compliments on them.

As for candy, I ate (all mini’s): a PayDay, 2 Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, a Butterfinger…wow, I think that’s it. Sounds like a lot, but that’s not very much for a fiend like me. Now I am staying away from it to rid my body of all the processed sugar.

And now, back to the business of losing weight.

Leave a Reply

